Our Curriculum

Click here to take a look to our class curriculum maps


St. Mary’s provides its pupils with an education which is broad and balanced. We aim to make learning exciting, meaningful and memorable. Our curriculum promotes the spiritual, moral, social and cultural development of pupils at our school, as well as preparing them for the responsibilities and experiences of later life.

At primary school a child’s education spans three key stages or eight year groups:

  • Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS): ages 3-5 years
    • Nursery
    • Reception
  • Key Stage One (KS1): ages 5-7 years
    • Year 1
    • Year 2
  • Key Stage Two (KS2): ages 7-11 years
    • Year 3
    • Year 4
    • Year 5
    • Year 6


Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning. In Nursery and Reception children learn skills, acquire new knowledge and demonstrate their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.

Children work within the 3 prime areas that are most essential for their healthy development and future learning. These are:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. The staff teaching and supporting your child will make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs. Children in the EYFS at St. Mary’s will learn by playing and exploring, being active and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outdoors.


 EYFS Framework


KS1 and KS2: The National Curriculum

St. Mary’s follows the statutory national curriculum which sets out subject content for those subjects that should be taught to all pupils.

The overall aim of the national curriculum is to provide pupils with the essential knowledge they need to be educated citizens. Using the national curriculum as a starting point our teachers develop exciting and stimulating lessons to promote the development of pupils’ knowledge, understanding and skills as part of the wider school curriculum.

Children in Key Stages 1 and 2 will be taught the core subjects of:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science

The following foundation subjects will also be taught:

  • Art and Design
  • Computing
  • Design and Technology
  • Modern Foreign Language (French)
  • Geography
  • History
  • Music
  • Physical Education


 National Curriculum


Religious Education (RE)

Religious Education (RE) is also taught and has an important role in reflecting and conveying the distinctively Christian character of our school. At St. Mary’s we follow a scheme of work for RE provided by the Southwark Diocesan Board of Education (SDBE), which as well as exploring Christianity, also provides the opportunity to study other major world religions.


Other parts of our curriculum

St. Mary’s also delivers the following:

  • Personal, Social, Health and Economic (PSHE) Education
  • Sex and Relationship Education (SRE)

More details about these and all the other subjects mentioned can be found in the ‘Curriculum Subjects’ section of our website.



Parts of our curriculum are taught as discrete subjects and other areas are taught as part of a cross-curricular topic. English, Mathematics, RE, Art and Design, PSHE (and SRE), Modern Foreign Language (MFL), PE and Music are all generally taught as discrete subjects and clearly identified on class timetables. All the remaining subjects are taught and identified as ‘Topic’ through the ‘International Primary Curriculum’ which is a stimulating topic based approach to learning. The International Primary Curriculum (IPC) has been designed to provide an exciting and creative curriculum for 3-11 year olds, with specific learning goals for every subject, international mindedness and personal learning.


Class curriculum maps

Nursery Class Curriculum Map

YR Class Curriculum Map

Y1 Class Curriculum Map

Y2 Class Curriculum Map

Y3 Class Curriculum Map

Y4 Class Curriculum Map

Y5 Class Curriculum Map

Y6 Class Curriculum Map


Further information

GOV.UK provides a list of information from the Department for Education, Ofqual and the Standards and Testing Agency relating to curriculum and qualifications. Please click the link below to explore:

 GOV.UK Curriculum and qualifications


For further information and details about the International Primary Curriculum (IPC) please click the link below:



⇑ Back to top

Information and School Events

More from our Website

Endurance • Compassion • Thankfulness